## MAM Annual Meeting October 4, 2019 University of Maine Hutchinson Center - Belfast

Meeting called to order at 11:30

Review minutes from 2018 Annual Meeting

Motion to approve minutes: Lorraine Delaney

Second: Kate Herbert

Treasurer's Report (Starr Kelly)

MAM is in strong financial health this year. \$895 over in surplus \$1600 over in sponsorships Have had great turnout for workshops - over \$900

Unanticipated expenses include strategic planning, which had not been factored into the 2019 budget.

Cost of the newsletter will put us over for newsletter expenses because they have been bigger than usual. Next year we plan to increase budget of newsletter to \$8,500.

Currently MAM has \$16,858 in our checking account and \$13,928 in savings.

Motion to approve Treasurer's Report: Renee DesRoberts

Second: Jenn Pye

Nominations for Executive Committee (Lorraine DeLaney and Jennifer Pye):

The Nominating Committee recommends that we elect the following slate for the MAM Executive Committee:

President - Cipperly Good, Penobscot Marine Museum Vice President - Renee DesRoberts, McArthur Public Library Treasurer - Starr Kelly, Abbe Museum Secretary - Erin Rhodes, Colby College

Motion to approve Nominating slate: Abby Dunham

Second: Elizabeth Stevens

New Board Members, starting January 1, 2020:

The Nominating Committee recommends that we elect the following new Board members:

Arielle Kellerman, Visitors Services Manager, Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Matthew Revitt, Special Collections and Shared Collections Librarian, University of Maine

Motion to approve new Board members: Beth Russell

Second: Heather Moran

## Board Members Seeking Additional Terms:

The Nominating Committee recommends that we approve the following Board members seeking additional terms:

Katie Donahue (first term, 2020-2021; filled out Rebekah Beaulieu's term 2018-2019)
Abby Dunham (second term, 2020-2021)
Kate Herbert (second term, 2020-2021)
Starr Kelly (second term, 2020-2021)
Larissa Vigue Picard (second term, 2020-2021)
Anastasia Weigle (second term, 2020-2021)

Nominations from the floor? None.

Motion to approve Board members: Erin Rhodes

Second: John Taylor

Maine Archives and Museums Year in Review (Dugan Murphy, Executive Director)

Thank you to our main sponsor Northern Artery, and thanks to our Gold and Silver Sponsors, and also our hosts, A+R Transport, Osher Map Library and the McGillicuddy Center.

The Maine Arts Commission grant we secured last year as well as excess funds from sponsorships has financed our strategic planning activities, and much of the planning is based on member input. Long range planning has been a big part of this year's activities.

Maine Museums Day in February was successful, and we were able to partner with the New England Museum Association.

We have secured new advertisers and new content for our newsletter, and have an active Facebook page and a new Instagram profile, thanks to Ari Kellerman.

This conference has the highest registration of any MAM conference ever.

Membership is steady, despite membership rates increasing, currently at 290 members.

Great workshop attendance this year

Programs and Conference Committees are working really really well, especially as separate committees.

## By-Laws Revision and Approval (Dugan Murphy, Executive Director)

Dugan introduced a proposed change to the By-laws.

The Board would like to propose the following changes to the By-laws (in red):

- 1. Add Conference Committee as a Standing Committee
- 2. Change the name of the Membership Development Committee to Membership Committee and include in Standing Committees

## **Article II, Section VIII Standing Committees**

- A. Standing Committees shall be, but are not limited to, Nominating, Long Range Planning, Programs, Membership, Communications, Conference and Finance.
- B. The chairs of standing committees must be members of the Board, and must be members in good standing.

Motion to approve proposed changes to By-laws: Kate Herbert Second: Jenn Pye

Additional Business
No additional business.

Farewell to outgoing Board Members Lorraine Delaney and Jennifer Pye!

Motion to Adjourn 11:45: Katie Donahue

Second: Elizabeth Stevens