Society of American Archivists call for nominations: 2014 SAA Waldo Gifford Leland Award

21 Jan 2014 10:26 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

Call for Nominations: 2014 SAA Waldo Gifford Leland Award

 Please help us to recognize the best in our profession!

Have you read a great new book about archives? Seen an exceptional new finding aid? Encountered a new documentary publication that is head and shoulders above the rest? Has a new web publication really stood out to you?

If you have, please consider nominating it for the Society of American Archivists Waldo Gifford Leland Award. Nomination forms, a list of previous winners, and more information are at The deadline for nominations is February 28, 2014. 

The annual Leland Award – a cash prize and certificate – recognizes “writing of superior excellence and usefulness in the field of archival history, theory, and practice.” 

 (Please note that periodicals are not eligible.) 

Established in 1959, this award honors American archival pioneer Waldo Gifford Leland (1879-1966), president of the Society of American Archivists in the1940s and one of the driving forces behind the founding of the National Archives.

Melissa Salrin

Archivist and Special Collections Librarian

Whitman College and Northwest Archives

345 Boyer Ave Walla Walla, WA 99362

p (509) 526-4731

f (509) 526-4785

Never miss an event or important update - Sign up to receive news from MAM!

Maine Archives and Museums

P.O. Box 784, Portland, Maine 04104   207-400-6965 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software